Home Page Description
GDC YELLANDU Government Degree college of Yellandu was started on 04.10.1991, with relentless and untiring efforts of the College development Committee consisting of Sri.Gummadi Narsaiah, MLA, Yellandu constituency, Sri.Y.Vinay Kumar, Municipal Chairman, Sri.Ch.Rajamallu, Sri.P.Madhava Rao, Sri.K.Komaraiah Sri.D.Rajender,Sri.Sk.Asrat,Sri.K.Venkateswarlu and Sri.S.Venkateswarlu. The aim of the institution is to provide qualitative higher education to the students of this region, particularly those who come from economically poor, rural, tribal and other oppressed classes of first generation. Keeping in view the above policies of the government of Andhra Pradesh and the guidelines given by the commissioner of Collegiate Education, Andhra Pradesh, from time to time, we train the students in Sciences, Arts and Commerce courses and also inculcate the social and cultural values. In the beginning, the college was housed in Government Junior College campus from 04.10.1991 to 23.01.2003. With the efforts College Development Committee, especially Sri.Gummadi Narsaish, MLA, Yellandu constituency, a new building was constructed in the out skirts of the town with Rs.20lakhs in an area of nearly 10 acres protected by a compound wall. The then Minister for Roads and Buildings, Government of Andhra Pradesh Sri.Tummala Nageswara Rao, Sri.B.GopalKrishna Reddy, the then Honble Minister for Small Scale Industries, Government of Andhra Pradesh, Sri.Chanda Lingaiah, the then Chairman, ZillaParishad, Khammam, Smt. Renuka Choudary, the then MP, Khammam constituency, Sri. Gummadi Narsaiah ,the then MLA, Yellandu constituency, Sri.Arvind Kumar IAS, the then District Collector, Khammam and Smt. B.A.Vijaya Kumari, the then Principal were among the dignitaries who attended the inaugural function. The college was shifted to the new building on 24.01.2003. Since its inception eminent Principals headed this college. The college is permanently affiliated to Kakatiya University, Warangal vide orders of KU No.450/CDC/KU/2008 dated 31.07.2008 and No.002/CDC/KU/2009 dated 03.01.2009. The college was visited by Peer Team of National Assessment and Accreditation Council, Benguluru and declared that the college is accredited at the B level securing an institutional score of 71 as per the criteria of the NAAC. As per GO RT No.846,Higher Education (CE-I-2) Department dated 29.08.2008, communicated vide proceedings of Commissioner of Collegiate Education, A.P., Hyderabad, vide Rc.No.439/Admn.I-1/2008 dated 04.09.2008, science sections MPC & BZC are sanctioned to this college and they are started from the academic year 2009-10. The University Grants Commission ,New Delhi through their letter F.No.8-100/2006 (CPP-1) dated 26.04.2010 declared the college as fit of receive central assistance in terms of rules framed under Section 12(B) of the UGC Act, 1956. As such the college is covered under 2(f) and 12(B) of the UGC Act, 1956.

3rd Floor, Prof. Jayashankar Vidya Bhavan,
Hyderabad - 500 001.

Designed & Developed by :

Content owned, maintained and updated by COMMISSIONERATE OF COLLEGIATE EDUCATION, Govt. of Telangana.