Origin and History of Warangal


The city ‘Warangal’ was originated from ‘ORUGALLU’. This Historical city was established by KAKATIYAS as their capital city ruled from 1000AD to 1323A.D. Now Warangal  has been developed in to three cities i.e Warangal, Hanamkonda and Kazipet. Madikonda village also merged with these cities at present. The Warangal city was divided in to two Assembly Constituencies 1.warangal (East)  2.Warangal (West).  Government Degree College comes under Warangal East constituency.

       Warangal is the Head Quarters of Warangal District of Telangana State. It is geographically located on the main Railway line between Hyderabad and Chennai, Chennai to New Delhi and Kolkata.  Warangal is a thickly populated city with middle class and below middle class people. The main source of income is generated through Agriculture which is primary occupation of the people.

Copy right @ 2021.

Designed and Developed by Centre for Good Governance