Home     Back

About College

History of the college

S.R.R Government Arts & Science College, Karimnagar, named after the presiding Deity, Sri Raja Rajeshwara Swamy of Vemulawada, the famous Shiva Temple, was established in 1956 in a modest way under private management. The college was taken over by the Government of Andhra Pradesh in the year 1959. Sri.P.V.Narasimha Rao, the former Prime Minister of India was the member of the governing council of this college. The doyen of Telugu Literature and the winner of Gnanapeet Awardee, Kavi Samrat Sri.Vishwanatha Satyanarayana worked as the Principal of this premier institution. At present the college is offering 30 Undergraduate and 07 Postgraduate, 3 certificate Courses and thus fulfilling the academic needs of the North Telangana Region. The college has well furnished class rooms, well equipped laboratories, TSKC,full fledged Botany lab and Zoology Museums, an excellent separate Library Building Block, One 10 stationed multi-gymnasium for Men, a well furnished Auditorium, Seminar Hall and large play fields, surrounded by thick greenery and mango groves. The college has the proud distinction of being headed by eminent academicians like Prof. I.V. Chalapathi Rao, Sri. K.Y.L. Narasimha Rao etc had contributed their might for the growth and development of the college. Presently the college has the status of an identified, lead college in the district, coordinating the academic activities of the other 15 Govt. Degree Colleges of the District till formation of 31 districts in Telangana State in October 2016. Presently the college has status of Identified College coordinating the academic activities of the other 04 Govt. Degree Colleges of the District. . This college was re accredited with “A” with CGPA 3.11. Recently UGC granted Autonomous status from the Academic year 2022-23 to 2031-32.

3rd Floor, Prof. Jayashankar Vidya Bhavan,
Hyderabad - 500 001.

Designed & Developed by :

Content owned, maintained and updated by COMMISSIONERATE OF COLLEGIATE EDUCATION, Govt. of Telangana.