GIRRAJ GOVT.COLLEGE (A), NIZAMABAD.



DEPARTMENT OF TELUGU

History of the Department

The college was started in the premises of the Quilla Jail on the auspicious day of 12th June 1956. It is a great fortune to have Sri P.L.N. Sharma, the doyen of the Osmania University Teachers Association member, as its founder and Principal, who built up an excellent image to the institution during his tenure. This college appeared for assessment and accreditation from NAAC in 2004,2011 and 2018. This college recognised as "College with Potential of Excellence (CPE)" by University Grants Commission, New Delhi, which is a feather in the cap of the college. The Department of Telugu of this college was established in the year 1956. The first in-charge of the department at the time of inception was Sri. Somayajulu, and at present Dr.N.Amber Singh Assistant Professor of Telugu is the Head of the Department. In this department most of the teaching staff has been well experienced with academic excellence and higher qualifications.

Telugu is imparted to the students of Telugu and English medium of under graduate students as second Language. The students are evaluated in paper I, II, III, IV, V and VI at the end of semesters I, II, III, IV, V and VI. The results of the department are very much encouraging and consistent. This department works for students to excel in the language skills by sensitizing them to participate in various cultural and literary activities like Essay Writing, Elocution, Poetry Reciting, Quiz, Story Writing, Poetry Writing, Singing, Classical and Folk dance, Mono Action etc., Organised at the college level and also at district level, by the different non-government and government agencies on occasion of the important days such as "Telugu Bhasha Dinostavam" on 29th August in of Gidugu Ramamurthy's Birth Anniversary, "Telangana Bhasha Dinostavam" on 9th September in Commemoration of Kaloji Narayana Rao's Birth Anniversary.

The department pays keen attention on individual performance in the class room to acquire command over the language and literature. It also takes care in promoting skills among the students to develop Literery and Communication skills. The department is strictly adhered to the academic schedule of the Telangana University; apart from the syllabus completion the Department maintains all academic records. The department also prepare Annual plan with different programmes to have more systematic approach, while imparting the subject to the students.

LIST OF SUCCESSORS AS HEAD OF THE DEPARTMENT

S.NO	NAME	DURATION
01	Sri.Somayajulu	1956-1966
02	Sri.Anjaneyulu	1966-1967
03	Dr.Shivakumar	1967-1968
04	Dr.C.Bhoomaiah	1968-1972
05	Sri.Gopala Krishnaiah	1972-1974
06	Sri.Subramanyam	1974-1976
07	Sri.Anjaneyulu	1976-1984
08	Dr.K.Laxmareddy	1984-1987
09	Dr. C. Bhoomaiah	1987-1994
10	Sri.B. Balaiah	1994-1995
11	Smt.A. Usharani	1995-1995
12	Dr.S.Raghupathi	1995-2007
13	Smt.A. Usharani	2007-2009

14	Dr.G. Laxmipathi	2009-2011
15	Sri. A.Balaswamy	2016-2018
16	Dr.N. Ambersingh	From
	8	2018

Brief Introduction of the Department:

- The Department of Telugu established in 1956 is one of the oldest departments in whole region of Telangana.
- Many notable literary giants and accomplished teachers have served the department with great acclaim in its glorious history of 50 years.
- The department at present has catered to 2483 Undergraduate students in the academic year 2019-2020.
- The Department employs student -centred learning through Blended learning and experiential learning.